Dara Resnik

Dara Resnik – Writer: Studio 60, Pushing Daisies, Castle, Mistresses, I Love Dick

When did you realize you wanted to work in television?

I watched ER and wanted to become a doctor. I watched The West Wing and wanted to be a politician. It took time but eventually, I realized what I really wanted was to write about those things… and more.

What advice do you have for college students who are looking to pursue the television industry?

Write. Write. Write. Write more. The writer is queen in TV.

What was your first job in the industry? What did you learn from it?

I was an intern at the Jim Henson Company after my freshman year of college. I learned how to say “yes.” When anyone asked for anything at all, I said “I’ll get on it,” even if I didn’t yet know how to do it. Drive and enthusiasm matter a lot — the next summer I was promoted to PA on one of their shows Bear in the Big Blue House.

Something you wish someone had told you about the industry?

You’ll be ruining for yourself the thing you love most in the world. My zone-out used to be TV and movies. Now it’s books because when I watch I can’t shut off my brain.

What is your writing process like?

I show up and write every day whether the muse is there or not. Highly recommend Elizabeth Gilbert’s TED talk to that effect.

What is your favorite thing that you’ve ever written? (From Studio 60, Pushing Daisies, Castle, or Mistresses

Favorite Castle episode, “Smells Like Teen Spirit.” But my current show I LOVE DICK on Amazon is my favorite.

The shows you’ve worked on are all extremely different from one another. What drew you to working on them and what show do you think helped you grow the most as a writer? 

I like to feel inspired. As long as the show is trying to say something and not just entertain, I’m in.

What shows made you fall in love with television? What shows are you currently loving?

ER andThe West Wing. I’m currently loving Baskets, Stranger Things, Transparent, and 13 Reasons Why.

Leave a Reply

