Catherine Reitman

Catherine Reitman – Creator: Workin’ Moms


When did you realize you wanted to work in television?

With films growing increasingly harder to make- particularly, ones about women over 20, it was the most logical transition for me.

What advice do you have for college students who are looking to pursue the television industry?

I’d say to expose yourself to the process as much as you can. This means not only watching as much television as you can (yay!) but also making things. Make terrible things. Make strange things. Become comfortable with how much work it takes to make something very simple and short. With phones being able to shoot, cut and email stories right at your finger tips, there are no more excuses! Make make make!

What was your first job in the industry? What did you learn from it?

I acted on a show called Charmed for the WB. I played “Excited Fan #2” and got to come on to Alyssa Milano HARD. It was everything you’d think it was.

Something you wish someone had told you about the industry?

Stop complaining. Don’t be entitled. Think differently. Use your flaws as strengths. Embrace coffee.

What is your writing process like? What is your favorite thing that you’ve written for Workin’ Moms?

We have a writers room with some extremely talented people in it. We break the season together and then all write our episodes separately. I use to be very particular about my environment for writing. I preferred writing in the morning… somewhere near a window… with NO NOISE AROUND ME! But as more deadlines approached and work piled up… and my two children decided to get discovered ‘yelling’, I’ve accepted the “It just has to get done” mentality. This has been very liberating for me as I feel now like I could write in a bunker in the middle of a war zone and still pull it off. This isn’t to say everything I write is good- I just don’t feel as precious about the conditions in which I get it done.

How did you develop Workin’ Moms?? Did the idea for the series just kind of hit you all at once or was it something you had been working on for a while?

Workin’ Moms is based off of my own experiences as a new mother returning to work. It has been an idea that has been written, shot… and then rewritten and shot several times over the past four years. I have written the very broad version, the indie film version and have now settled with it as a single camera premium feeling dramedy- in 22 minutes!

What shows made you fall in love with television? What shows are you currently loving?

Oh man… so many! As a kid, I devoured anything on Nickelodeon. “Clarissa Explains it All” and “You can’t do that on Television”, being some favs. I also loved cartoons, SNL and a little show called Beverly Hills 90210… the one with Jason Priestly and Luke Perry bitchesss. Currently, I consume everything I can. It has become harder with time restrictions. But once my kids are asleep, it’s on!

Leave a Reply

